FAQ
Frequently Asked Questions
-
The BCBWP is open to individuals residing in British Columbia.
The BCBWP is intended to offer lifestyle-based interventions that are clinically relevant for brain health. When referring a participant to the program or deciding to join yourself, please ensure that participants are medically stable (i.e., their chronic medical conditions are well controlled, they are not currently undergoing investigations for conditions that could impact function or be made worse by participating).
We also ask all participants to adhere to the code of conduct.
-
For instructions on registering for a class, go to our Get Started page. For step-by-step instructions, follow along the tutorial video in the Helpful Hints section.
-
Click here to open our registration platform. On the top right corner, there is a button that says “Sign In or Sign Up”. Click on this button and click on “Create Account”, which is found right under the “Continue” button. If you already have an account, you can sign in by entering your username, email or phone number in the box directly.
-
Thanks to the support of our donors, we are able to offer free online wellness programming to fit your lifestyle.
-
As of August 2026, all participants require a virtual intake appointment prior to attending any of our classes (exercise, creative, care partner, and nutrition classes). These are orientation and safety screenings done virtually over video. The purpose is to help determine an appropriate level of activity for you, identify classes that may be a good fit for your interests and needs, and help us understand how our program can best support you. If you have already completed a virtual intake appointment in the past, you are not required to rebook for one. However, if it has been several years since your last assessment, we highly encourage completing a reassessment. This allows us to provide updated recommendations and gain a better understanding of your current needs.
Click here for more information and how to book your appointment.
Video tutorials are also available here.
-
Before you can join a waitlist, follow the usual steps to register for a class. If the class is full, it will be marked as "Full", and you'll need to register for the corresponding waitlist instead.
Waitlist options are located near the bottom of the class listings on the registration page. Scroll down to find the waitlist for the class you'd like to join and complete your registration.
When a spot becomes available, participants are added from the waitlist on a first-come, first-served basis. Waitlist enrollment is processed manually by our staff and is not monitored continuously throughout the day.
For the best chance of securing a spot, we recommend checking the registration page regularly, as openings may become available before waitlist requests are processed.
-
The way you access the internet can impact how you see the registration page. We recommend using Google Chrome, rather than Safari or Firefox.
Watch this video to learn how to easily download Google Chrome. If you have an Apple MacBook, please watch this video.
For participants who are accessing our program with an iPad, if you encounter a blank screen instead of the registration page, please check for any software updates. -
A Zoom tutorial is available here. If you have any other questions, please contact our office.
-
Once you have successfully registered for a class, you will receive a confirmation email with the Zoom link. You will also receive a reminder email 24 hours prior to the class, which also includes the Zoom link.
If you are still unable to access the Zoom link, please email brain.wellness@ubc.ca and we will try to send the class link as soon as possible.
-
If you forgot your password, follow the steps to log in as usual with your email. Instead of entering your password, select “Forgot your Password?” below the log in button to reset your password.
If you would like to change the email, you can sign into your account with your current email or username, click on “Contact Info” on the left side bar, and update your email address.
Please note that Jane is a different platform from Omnify, which we used for class registration prior to Fall 2026. If you are experiencing difficulties signing in, please ensure that you have already created a Jane account with the BC Brain Wellness Program and are not using your Omnify login credentials, as these accounts are separate.
We have video tutorials available for navigating your Jane account here. If you require further assistance, please contact us.
-
If you would like to change your username, you can sign into your Jane account with your current username, click on “Username/Password” on the left side bar, and update it to a new one.
If you do not remember the username you had used to sign in, please first try entering your email. If this option does not work, please contact our office and we will be happy to retrieve the details for you.
-
Once you have successfully registered for a class, you will receive a confirmation email with class details and the Zoom link. You will also receive a reminder email 24 hours prior to the class. Please double-check your inbox and spam/junk folders, and make sure you are registered for the class.
-
You are not required to attend every class during the term!
During the first week of registration, you only need to register for one date for each class you would like to attend. Our team will then enroll you to all remaining sessions for the term. Afterward, you can cancel any individual class dates that you do not plan to attend.
If you register after the first week of registration, you will need to manually register for each class date you wish to attend.
-
We have high demand for our classes so if you are unable to make a class, please cancel so we may offer that spot to someone on our waitlist. To cancel a class, log into your account, which will show all of your registered classes under “Upcoming Appointments”. To cancel the class, select a downward-facing triangle on the right side of the specific class, then select one option from the “cancel” options.
If done successfully, the session you have just cancelled will be highlighted red and you will receive an email to confirm you are no longer registered for the class.
-
If you’re using Google Chrome, follow the instructions for your device type (Computer, Android, Ipad/Iphone) here:
https://support.google.com/chrome/answer/95472?hl=en&co=GENIE.Platform%3DiOS&oco=1
If you’re using Safari on a MacBook, follow the instructions on this site: